Longnitudinal stiffening

Home Forums General Olson 30 Discussions Longnitudinal stiffening

This topic contains 18 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  Jason Adamson 6 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author

Old School
    Participant

Looking at the forestay thread, and examining some boats, it is becoming apparent that our boats are indeed softening over the years. Of course, this can be expected in thirty year old boats, but I for one would like to lengthen the racing lifespan as long as possible!

In our current constitution, it is not permissible to have any non-stock longnitudinal stiffners installed, except for the exemption of allowing boards between the main bulkhead and the forward bulkhead. It is also suggested that jock-straps and the mast-deck strap also help in this regard.

But I think more could be done. I am not an engineer, but there could very well be some more simple solutions have not been looked at.

What does the association membership think about using some of the funds in the class’ account to hire a NA to go over the boat and make some suggestions? If there are some new ideas, we could vote on them at the next AGM.

Scot

Bruce Hubble
    Bruce Hubble
    Participant

In my opinion..jock straps without a BOD could actually make the problem WORSE. Think about a bow and arrow.

The best fix would be a SS Rod from deck to keel (or to a SS mast base plate). Most modern boats have this. If the deck can’t rise..the sides can’t come in. Our toe rails are strong.

I know on my boat that I cannot install my ladder pins when it is on my trailer sitting on the keel. Once in the water, pins go in easily. To me, that means the bottom of the boat has a tiny bit of flex. That means your mast compression can push the keel down further. A rod would prevent some of that.

Old School
    Participant

I am sure a rod would help, but I still think having a NA’s opinion would be valuable.

Lilya Vorobey